House Fire

I always feel weird about photographing things like this, but at the same time it is one of those moments that I feel should be recorded. But at the same time  I try to stay out of everyones way and just observe.

Every time I come upon a scene like this Im reminded off my photo teacher and how one day he had come upon a horrible accident and first thing he did was take out his camera and start taking photos. Turns out it was one of his students fathers, he felt bad about it but at the same time he felt he needed to take photos. Not to get rich off the photos but because it was a story that needed to be told.

Im sure we all feel the same way about house fires, that they are horrible and sad. I cannot imagine ones belonging gone just like that, having to start over with just the clothes on your back. I think that is where we as caring individuals should step in and lend a helping hand. As I wandered around the scene I saw the homeowner a woman and a child about 1 to 2 years of age sitting on the sidewalk with a diaper bag and a box of baby wipes. Inside I wanted to take a photo but at the same time I could not bring myself to capture such a moment. I don’t regret not taking the photo It is one of those moments recorded in my mind.

I instead focused more on the fire fighters doing there job and how they interacted with each other to get the job done.

 

Multiple times the fire fighters made eye contact with me, Im not sure if they were annoyed or not.

 

 

 

I really like this one.

 

 

