21st Century Skins Native Male Calendar Release Party

This weekend I was asked to photograph a friend’s event for her calendar release party the 21st Century Skins Native Male Calendar. It was held in downtown Phoenix at the hard Rock Café. My friend Shaunya and Mihio owners of Viewfinder Production Incorporated have been putting this calendar together since 2006, take a look when you get the chance, And inquire about a calendar for yourself or someone else.

To be completely honest I was a little freaked out shooting something like this. I have never attempted to shoot any nightlife photos before, as you know I’m used to shooting photos with a rangefinder and no flash or using a point and shoot flash or whatever I had laying around. These photos would consist of getting images of male models. crowd shots, people having fun stuff like that.

I don’t consider myself to be a good photographer, I just photograph my life, so photographing something like this was way beyond my comfort zone. I accepted mostly cause I was curious to see if I could actually pull it off and I thought I should have the experience if the need arose.  Also my friend said he would have his camera too, so that made me feel a lot better.

I used my Ricoh GRD III with my Ricoh GF-1 flash, Canon Rebel XT with a 480 EXII flash and of course my leicaM6. I had to borrow my job’s DSLR since I do not own one I never thought to actually buy one since I don’t really use them.

Well here are the photos tell me what you think. I was able to pick up some things that I would do differently next time. If there is a next time.

 

First off Here are Some of the Native Female Models!

 

Ok now on to the Gentleman.

Supa Man & Derek Hinkey. Both are featured in the calendar. Supa Man actually is a hip Hop artist also.

Derek Hinkey

 

Supa Man was fun to photograph.

Performing now.

 

Andrew Orozco

If they had a girl with them i made them kiss her on the cheek.

 

Cody Jones

Another one…

 

This is Joshua Greg he is is an upcoming musician from the Navajo reservation. He opened the 2013 21st Century Skins event.

 

This is miya, the one in the skirt…She is my friend Mihio’s and Shaunya’s daughter. One cool kid.

 

To end the night a performance by Tony Duncan. four-time World Champion Teen Hoop Dancer and also has a World Championship in the adult division. He is also ranked among the top ten hoop dancers in the world. And HAS EVEN performed alongside Nelly Furtado.

Caught my flash in this frame, but i liked it to much not to post it. I will post more images when I get the chance.

 

Well Thats it for tonight. Hope you enjoyed this post. Tell me how i did…

 

